I blow my load over the status quo

Queens shave

Idly watching tv the other day, I heard Queens of the Stone Age, ‘Smooth Sailing’ during an ad break, its jerky rhythms accompanying some lithe young things exhorting me with their improbable cool to buy a car, or some perfume, or maybe something else. Aftershave perhaps. Or some garden tools.

JOSH HOMME, WHAT THE FUCK ARE YOU DOING?

…Like Clockwork was one of the strongest rock releases of 2013, a welcome return to form after a few years of drift. And you’ve commodified it by letting someone use one of its standout tracks to sell stuff.

If you don’t believe me that you’ve committed a heinous sin against art, here’s the timeless and characteristically unequivocal Bill Hicks opining on the subject.

It’s possible that I was having a weird dream – it seems so unlikely after all – so apologies to QOTSA if my marbles are flying loose. I’ll eat less late night cheese. But I’m fairly sure I’ve not made this up.

About Mark Anstee

guitarist, Radio Seattle View all posts by Mark Anstee

Share, if it makes you sleep, if it sets you free, if it helps you breathe…

